Weather Forecast


UND to play Boston U in first round of NCAA hockey tournament in Fargo

1 / 2
2 / 2

UND's first-round matchup in the NCAA men's hockey tournament won't be an easy one.

UND will take on Boston University at 2 p.m. Friday in Fargo's Scheels Arena.

Boston University features four NHL first-round draft picks in Clayton Keller, Kieffer Bellows, Dante Fabbro and Charlie McAvoy and four second-round picks in Jakob Forsbacka Karlsson, Jordan Greenway, Chad Krys and John MacLeod. Terrier goalie Jake Oettinger (.927 save percentage) also is expected to be a high draft pick in June.

The Terriers finished in a three-way tie atop Hockey East standings in the regular season and enter the NCAA tournament with a record of 23-11-3.

UND, meanwhile, enters the tournament playing its best.

The Fighting Hawks are 21-15-3 and playing in the NCAA tournament for the 15th consecutive season -- the second-longest streak in college hockey history, only behind Michigan's run of 22 straight tournaments.

UND needed one win over the weekend at the National Collegiate Hockey Conference Frozen Faceoff to get in the tournament.

"They stared oblivion in the face in the face and they came together," ESPN and CBS Sports analyst Dave Starman said on the Selection Show.

The two other teams in the NCAA West Regional in Fargo are top-seeded Minnesota Duluth and four-seed Ohio State.


1 Minnesota Duluth vs. 4 Ohio State, 5:30 p.m., Friday (ESPNU)a

2 Boston University vs. 3 North Dakota, 2 p.m. Friday (ESPN2)


1 Harvard vs. 4 Providence, 3 p.m., Friday

2 Western Michigan vs. Air Force, 6:30 p.m., Friday


1 Denver vs. 4 Michigan Tech, noon Saturday

2 Union vs. 3 Penn State, 3:30 p.m. Saturday


1 Minnesota vs. 4 Notre Dame, 2:30 p.m. Saturday

2 UMass Lowell vs. 3 Cornell, 11 a.m. Saturday

Brad Elliott Schlossman

Schlossman is in his 13th year covering college hockey for the Herald. In 2016 and 2018, he was named the top beat writer in the country by the Associated Press Sports Editors. He also was the NCHC's inaugural Media Excellence Award winner in 2018. Schlossman has voted in the national college hockey poll since 2007 and has served as a member of the Hobey Baker and Patty Kazmaier Award committees.

(701) 780-1129