Weather Forecast


Deutsch, Dawson, Griggs win Fargo Park Board seats

Joe Deutsch1 / 3
Vicki Dawson2 / 3
Stacey Griggs3 / 3

FARGO – Stacey Griggs came in third place when she first ran for the Fargo Park Board in 2016. That wasn’t enough to win one of two open seats on the board of commissioners then, but this year it was.

“I’m really excited to be third this time,” Griggs said Tuesday, June 12.

She garnered 17 percent of the vote in complete but unofficial results to grab one of three open seats on the park board.

Griggs will join the board with fellow newcomer Vicki Dawson, who received 21 percent of the vote.

“I’m so relieved,” Dawson said. “So many people worked so hard and had great faith in me and were hopeful in what I can do to keep our parks great.”

Board President Joe Deutsch was successful in his run for a fourth term.  

Deutsch said back when he first ran for the board 12 years ago, he threw a big party with family and friends to celebrate. This year, he said his evening was spent at home hitting the refresh button on his web browser, watching the results roll in.

Deutsch got the most votes with 22 percent. Meanwhile, the other incumbent on the ballot, Matt Magness, fell short of returning to the board for a second term with 15 percent of the vote.

Candidate Brandi Malarkey matched Magness with 15 percent, and Tyler Tracy received 10 percent of the vote.

Before the polls closed Tuesday, the park board had a regularly scheduled meeting where they approved managing events year-round in the plaza of the soon-to-be-built Block 9 downtown high-rise. The park district will use the plaza for a public ice skating rink in the winter and for concerts and movie nights in the summer.

Joe Deutsch 22 percent

Vicki Dawson 21 percent

Stacey Griggs 17 percent

Matt Magness 15 percent

Brandi Malarkey 15 percent

Tyler Tracy 10 percent