INFORUM.com | WDAZ.com

WDAY: The News Leader

Published March 08, 2013, 08:51 AM

North Dakota Senate passes crime compensation measure

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) — Vicitms of a crime in North Dakota have 72 hours to report it to law enforcement in order to be compensated for losses under a state program.

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) — Vicitms of a crime in North Dakota have 72 hours to report it to law enforcement in order to be compensated for losses under a state program.

North Dakota's Senate endorsed a House bill on Thursday that extends that amount of time to 96 hours, or four days.

North Dakota's crime victim compensation fund pays some medical and funeral costs and other expenses resulting from a crime.

To receive the compensation, a victim must cooperate with the investigation and prosecution of the offender.

The amount a victim can be compensated is capped at $25,000.

Tags: