INFORUM.com | WDAZ.com

WDAY: The News Leader

Published February 27, 2013, 03:24 PM

North Dakota House endorses change to state's DUI law

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) — North Dakota's House has endorsed a measure that would require jail time for some first-time drunken driving offenders.

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) — North Dakota's House has endorsed a measure that would require jail time for some first-time drunken driving offenders.

The measure passed 80-14 Wednesday and now goes to the North Dakota Senate.

The bill mandates that someone with a blood-alcohol content of 0.25 percent — or nearly three times the legal limit for driving — must spend a minimum of 10 days in jail.

The measure also increases fines and penalties and requires probation for repeat offenders.

Tags: